My tea party for the Boston Globe

Tea and Roses
Recently Jane Dornbusch of the Boston Globe came to tea at my home. See her article.

Classic Cream Scones

2 cups flour
1 tbsp. baking powder
2 tbsp. sugar
1 tsp. salt
1  1/3 cups heavy cream

Preheat oven to 350.

Combine flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt.  Stir with a fork for two or three minutes to aerate or sift.

Add the cream in three additions and mix gently until the mixture comes together.

Turn dough out on a floured board. Knead gently with your fingertips.

Roll to a one-inch thickness. Cut out about 12 scones with a 2″ cutter. Place on ungreased baking sheet.

Bake 12-18 minutes until golden brown. (My oven takes 18 minutes.)

Serve warm with jam and clotted cream.

2 Comments

Filed under Home, Tea

2 responses to “My tea party for the Boston Globe

  1. Carol

    Deborah, lovely home, adore pink, and tea. Read your article on your home and tea , stated a recipe for the scones, but wasn’t there. Would you mind sharing that recipe.
    Would enjoy reading more about your teas.
    Best of Tea…..Carol

  2. Hello Carol,
    I’m just back from vacation this week and saw your comment. I’m so glad you liked the photos of my home and tea. I adore pink too, as you could see.
    I took tea cups and linens to the cottage we rented in Maine and had tea every day. There was even a local market that had Devon cream (I didn’t eat that every day, though!).

    I will add the scone recipe to the article. It was originally on Boston.com, but I guess it is no longer showing up.

    Are you here at MassArt or did you just stumble on my blog?

    Best tea wishes to you too, Deborah

Leave a Reply

