Queen Elizabeth’s Birthday

Today, April 21st, is Queen Elizabeth’s 90th birthday, and I wanted to celebrate.  After a walk around the Pond in which I visited the nesting goose again, I made a quick batch of scones and put together a tea tray using my Paragon Coronation teacup.

Tea Tray for Royal Birthday

The cup is decorated with roses for England, thistles for Scotland, daffodils for Wales, and shamrocks for Northern Ireland. On the bottom of the saucer it says “To commemorate the CORONATION of HM QUEEN ELIZABETH II Crowned Westminster Abbey June 2, 1953.” I love the pink, yellow, and green colors and the center with the crown and Queen Elizabeth’s cypher.

Coronation Tea Cup

While I had tea on my chaise longue with the sun pouring in to our large bow-front windows, I read my new book Long to Reign Over Us, published to celebrate Queen Elizabeth’s becoming the longest reigning monarch in British history last September. I really do admire the Queen for her steadfastness and loyalty, her dignity and elegance. There is probably no other leader on the planet who has served so long and faithfully. The Queen does not get to retire, although she may be slowing down a bit and letting the younger royals carry out some of the duties. She is an inspiration.

Happy birthday Queen Elizabeth

Long May She Reign

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Tea

Leave a Reply

